About Harry's wafer Bakery- History

1952: Harry's wafer bakery is established by Henri Groosman & Joanna Verreth.

On 5 April 1952, the company is entered into the trade register number 120.881. Its first place of business is 28 Fort II straat in Wommelgem, near Antwerp. Later, the bakery recolates to Borsbeek. The assortment is limited to  cones ( 3 different sizes) and flat wafers.

1975: Takeover
 

The comapny is acquired by Mr and Mrs Hoorens, the owners of a coffee-roasting house and multiple tea-rooms. The wafer bakery relocates to Handrode. 




1987: Mrs. Raes acquires the bakery.

 The wafer bakery moves to 22 Pourbusstraat , Antwerp( South). The assortment is extended to include double fan wafers.      

 1989: The Current owner, Francis Hendrickx,acquires Harry's wafer bakery.

There are just five customers left for a variety of reasons-- too few to speak of a profitable company. Every effort is made to improve the quality and to increase production capacity. Additionally, the range is extended to include  biscuits rolls and tulip-shaped wafers. During the winter months, sugar waffles are baked. Our customers base steadly grows again. We focus primarily on ice-cream parlours that make their own ice-cream.

1990: Move

Due to lack of space, the bakery is moved to a location nearby, natably 16 de Vrièrestraat.

1995: Move to Hoboken.

In light of continued expansion of production, Harry's wafer bakery is moved to a building in Hoboken.
 

1996: Biscuiterie Bosny is acquired.

Located in Niel, Biscuiterie Bosny manufactures biscuits on the same way as Harry's wafer bakery does. Production is moved to Hoboken. Roger Bosny  becomes employed at Harry's.This takeover raises the profile of Harry's wafer bakery as a supplier catering to quality-conscious ice-cream makers.

1999: Personalised logo

In line with the time-honoured tradition wherby ice-cream parlours baked their own biscuits with their logos imprinted on them, a system is created thet enables Harry's to offer ice-cream biscuits thet bear its customer's logos using traditional methods.

2007: Production of sugar waffles and balls of dough is halted.

To allow for an even greater focus on the baking of ice-cream wafers.

2010: New export

Thanks to a steady growth, today Harry's tasty ice-cream wafers are baked in multiple ovens according to the original recipe. The export market includes the Netherlands as well as other European countries, and even the US.

A propos de la Gaufrerie Harry's- histoire

1952: La Gaufrerie Harry's est fondée par Henri Groosman & Joanna Verreth.

En date du 5 avril 1952, la société est immatriculée  sur le registre du commerce sous le numéro 120.188. Elle fut d'abord établie à Wommelgem, près d'Anvers, Fort II-straat 28. Par la suite, la boulangerie déménagea à Borsbeek. L'assortiment était limité à des cornets( de 3 formats différents)et à des gaufrettes sciées.

1975: Reprise
 

La firme est reprise par Monsieur et Madame Hoorens, qui sont propriétaires d'un atelier de torréfaction et de plusieurs salons de thé. La gaufrerie déménage à Handrode.



 

1987: Mme. Raes reprend la boulangerie.

La gaufrerie est transférée à Anvers( Sud), Pourbustraat 22. Les éventails doubles apparaissent dans l'assortiment.      

 1989: Le propriètaire actuel, Francis Hendrickx, reprend la Gaufrerie Harry's.

Pour différentes raisons , il n'y a plus que quelque cinq clients. Trop peur pour parler d'une entreprise rentable. On s'efforce d'améliorer la qualité et d'augmonter la capacité de production. L'assortiment, quant à lui, est étendu par des cigarettes russes et de gaufres tulipes. En hiver, on produit des gaufres sucrées. Le nombre de clients augmente petit à petit. La firme s'adresse principalement à des salons de dégustation qui produisent eux-mêmes leurs crèmes glacées.

1990: Déménagement

Faute d'espace, la boulangerie déménage à un autre endroit dans le même quartier : de Vrièrestrat 16.

1995: Déménagement à Hoboken

En raison de l'extension de la production, la Gaufrerie Harry's est transférée à Hoboken.

1996: Reprise de la Biscuiterie Bosny .

 La Biscuiterie Bosny installée à Niel a la même procédé de production de biscuits. La production est transférée à Hoboken. Roger Bosny entre en service chez Harry's. Cette reprise renforce la position de la Gaufrerie Harry's dans le segment des producteurs de crèmes glacées soucieux de la qualité de leurs produits. 

1999: Logo personnalisé.

Pour renouer avec l'ancienne tradition voulant que les salons de dégustion produisent eux-mêmes leurs gaufrettes portant leur logo, Harry's occupe de la mise au point d'un système permettant de proposer aux clients des gaufrettes avec leur logo personnalisé, conformément à l'ancienne méthode.

2007: La production de gaufres sucrées et de pâtons est arrêtée.

Afin de pouvoir se concentrer sur la production de gaufrettes pour la crème glacées.

2010: Nouvelle Exportation.

Grâce à une croissance soutenue, la proction selon l'ancienne recette de ces délicieuses gaufrettes pour crèmes glacées est actuellement répartie sur plusieurs fours. Les gaufrettes sont exportées vers les Pays-Bas, vers d'autres pays européens et même vers les Etats-Unis.